Mahindra Formula E Team Score Points In Inaugural Race

Written By:

Saturday 13th September, 2014 marked a new era in motorsports as the first Formula E race commenced. The first round was held in Beijing, China on a street track around the Olympic Park. India's Mahindra team is participating in the apex electric race known as Formula E.

There are ten teams participating in the inaugural season of Formula E. Mahindra is the only Indian team and has an Indian and Brazilian driver, Karun Chandhok and Bruno Senna. Chandhok qualified to begin the race from fourth place, while Senna suffered battery problems and began from 19th position.

The race began spectacularly with famous personalities from all over the world–Anand Mahindra, Mahindra team owner was present at the race. A string of bad luck followed Bruno Senna as he had to retire from the race, due to suspension failure.

Meanwhile teammate Chandhok, started well, however, was passed by Nick Heidfeld. The Indian driver maintained his fifth place due to a safety car deployment. He changed his car on lap 15 and came out on track in seventh place. With fresh tyres and battery he pushed hard to secure sixth place in the race.

Also Read: Mahindra Working On Three Compact SUVs For Coming Years

Karun Chandhok commented, "It was a good race; I was comfortable staying with the leading pack and passed Sam and was catching Daniel but then the battery overheated and I lost a handful of seconds in the final laps which lost me two places. There's lots of positives to be taken away and some lessons learned too."

On a disappointing start to the season Bruno Senna explained, "This is racing, sometimes these things happen. Hopefully we are getting all our bad luck out of the way early. The aim will be to be quickest in practice again, but next time follow it up with pole position and a win. That is what we have to aim for."

Lucas di Grassi won the inaugural Formula E race and was followed by Franck Montagny and Sam Bird. The next race is scheduled to be held in Putrajaya, Malaysia on 22nd of November, 2014. We believe Team Mahindra will showcase a stronger outcome in the coming race.


<iframe width="600" height="450" src="//" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos