Gaurav Gill Wins First Round Of Indian National Rally Championship

Written By:

Two-time APRC Champion Gaurav Gill has won the first round of the FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship. Gill dominated the Rally of Coimbatore by posting fastest stage times.

Gill alongside his co-driver Musa Sherif took the rally lead in the first stage itself. The duo tackled the twisty and tight stages with ease and stretched the lead in their Mahindra XUV 500.

Gaurav Gill Wins First Round Of INRC

Gill completed the rally in 1 hour and 36 seconds. Karna Kadur and his co-driver Nikhil Pai finished second in their Volkswagen Polo, 1 minute 45 seconds adrift the rally winner.

Team Mahindra Adventure driver Amittrajit Ghosh, and co-driver Ashwin Naik crossed the line in the final podium position. Despite the technical problems, the duo finished in the third place.

Gaurav Gill Wins First Round Of INRC

Kadur showed incredible pace in his Volkswagen Polo but couldn't match the speed of Gill. But he topped the INRC 2 class. Rahul Kanthraj and Vivek Bhat finished fifth overall and in the second position in the INRC 2 category.

The INRC 3 class victory went to Dean Mascarenhas and Shruptha Padival. The duo finished fourth in the overall standings. Leading competitor Arjun Rao and his co-driver Satish Rajgopal pulled out of the rally in the very first stage.

Gaurav Gill Wins First Round Of INRC

DriveSpark Thinks!

Team Mahindra Adventure driver and APRC champion Gaurav Gill was very fast in the twisty stages. Karna Kadur was the only driver who came close to Gill. The second round of the championship will be held in Chennai on August 26, 2017.

Image Credit: FMSCI

Read more on: #motorsports #fmsci
Story first published: Monday, July 31, 2017, 14:15 [IST]

Latest Auto Expo Images

Latest Auto Expo Videos

Get Instant Auto Updates From DriveSpark