Sebastian Buemi & Lucas di Grassi Battle For Formula E Crown

Written By:

Ex-Formula One drivers Sebastian Buemi and Lucas di Grassi entered the final Formula E race on equal points. Both drivers were fighting for the season two Formula E Championship. The title decider was contested on July 3, 2016, at the London ePrix.

Both drivers started the race with 153 points and it seemed that fans were going to witness an amazing championship battle. Sebastian Buemi started the race from pole position, while title rival Lucas di Grassi started from third place for the final race.

lucas di grassi formula e

Unfortunately, title contenders ended up crashing into each other. Both cars were still not out of the race and joined back. It was clear that gaining points would be impossible for either driver as they ended up far behind the leading pack.

buemi 2016 formula e

The championship was finally decided by who set the fastest lap during the race. Two points were handed to the fastest driver during the race. Sebastian Buemi set a fast lap time of 1:24.150, which, was unbeatable by Lucas di Grassi, thus handing him two vital points.

sebastian buemi wins 2016 formula e championship

Sebastian Buemi drives for the Renault e.Dams team, which also secured the constructors title. They now have their second consecutive constructors championship. Season three of Formula E will begin on October 9, 2016, with the Hong Kong ePrix.

Read more on: #formula e #motorsports
Story first published: Tuesday, July 5, 2016, 9:26 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos