Nelson Piquet Jr. Wins Inaugural Formula E Championship

Written By:

2015 marked the new beginning of a clean and green racing championship. This was the inaugural year of Formula E Championship in which ten teams took part.

Nelson Piquet Jr. who drives for NEXTEV TCR Formula E Team won the 2015 Championship. The Brazilian driver has cemented his name in history books and will be known as the first Champion of Formula E forever.

nelson piquet jr formula e champion

Sebastian Buemi lost the championship by a single point in his e.dams-Renault vehicle. In third place came Lucas di Grassi in the inaugural Formula E championship in his Audi Sport ABT Formula E Team.

nelson piquet jr formula e champion

Here is the team standing for inaugural Formula E 2015 Championship:

  • e-dams-Renault with 232 points
  • Dragon Racing with 171 points
  • Audi Sport ABT with 165 points
  • NEXTEV TCR with 152 points
  • Virgin Racing with 133 points
  • Andretti Formula E with 119 points
  • Amlin Aguri with 66 points
  • Mahindra Racing with 58 points
  • Venturi with 53 points
  • Trulli with 17 points

Next year more teams are expected to participate in this competition. Formula E is also exploring more venues they can host their races and India is definitely one of the options.

nelson piquet jr formula e champion

Formula E is expected to be the next big thing after Formula One, however, it is expected to overtake them in popularity within the coming five years. Who knows we may see one day Mercedes and Ferrari competing in Formula E as well.

Read more on: #formula e #motorsports
Story first published: Monday, June 29, 2015, 17:48 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos