Formula One To Introduce Super Licence Point In 2016

Written By:

Formula One is the pinnacle of motorsport racing and is constantly evolving. They have already changed the engines for more efficient competition. For the coming years their goal is to make the sport safer than what it currently is.

The FIA, which is Formula One's race governing body has now provided a new set of rules for 2016. They will be introducing a Super Licence point system. This system will help filter out drivers trying to enter Formula One competition.

f1 super licence

The major change is that no driver can participate in Formula One if he is below the age of 18 years. They also need to have minimum experience of two years in junior single seat categories.

They should also have a valid drivers licence for roads and pass tests approved by Formula One sporting regulations. The current rule of completing 300 kilometres in an F1 car also stands as it is.

2016 onwards Formula One future drivers will have to earn minimum of 40 points in their Super Licence point tally. They have to collect these points over a period of three years. The drivers will be awarded points based on the competition that they take part in and the achieved result also matters.

2016 formula one licence

Here is a short breakdown of points for Super Licence point system in 2016. FIA F2 winner gets 60 points, GP2 winner gets 50 points, FIA F3 championship and FIA WEC can achieve maximum of 40 points, along with Indycar as well. GP3 competition can get a maximum of 30 points.

The Formula Renault 3.5 championship scores a max of 30 points. Japanese Super Formula is also accounted for and can achieve a max of 20 points, national FIA-certifiedF4 and F3 championship get 10 points each, while Formula Renault participants can score a maximum of 5 points.

Story first published: Saturday, January 17, 2015, 18:13 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos