Sandeep Sharma Takes Victory At The Dakshin Dare Rally

Written By:

After 5 days of merciless driving and covering 2000 kilometers, the Dakshin Dare rally has finally come to an end with Sandeep Sharma and co-driver Varun Davessar took the trophy as overall winners in the extreme class.

Finishing the rally with a total time of 3:41:26, in their Maruti Gypsy, behind them were Sanjay Agarwal and co-driver Venu Ramesh Kumar also in a Gypsy finished second with an overall time of 3:42:49. The 2013 winner, Amanpreet Ahluwalia and Sudeep Halder finished third with a time of 3:44:56.

sandeep sharma wins dakshin dare rally

In the extreme bike category, Mohit Verma emerged victorious finishing with a time of 3:29:15, followed by last years champion Nataraj who finished in 3:33:30 and Pramod Joshua who finished with an overall time of 3:35:37.

Karthick Maruthi and Shankar Anand of team Maruti finished first in their Ertiga with a time of 2:13 in the endurance category, followed by Sachin Singh and co-driver Prathima in second place, and Ganesh Moorthy and T Nagarajan of Team Maruti finishing in third place.

Also Read: MotoGP Returns To Indianapolis Post Summer Break

This 200 km long rally was held in northern Karnataka for the first time through Tumkur, Hiriyur, Chitradurga, Bellary, Hospet, Hampi, Koppal, Hubli and Karwar.

Addressing the event, Manohar Bhatt, VP - Marketing, Maruti Suzuki said that the rally was taken to new heights with this year's route throwing up unexpected and daunting challenges to the participants. The amount of skill and spirit showcased by participants has been exemplary.

Final Results

Extreme Cars

Sandeep Sharma/Varun Davessar (3:41:26)
Sanjay Agarwal/Venu Ramesh Kumar (3:42:49)
Aman Preeth/Sudeep Halder (3:44:56)

Extreme Bikes

Mohit Verma (3:29:15)
Nataraj (3:33:30)
Pramod Joshua (3:35:37)


Karthick Maruthi/Shankar Anand (2:13)
Sachin Singh/Pratima (2:51)
Ganesh Moorthy/Nagarajan (3:10)


<iframe width="600" height="450" src="//" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Story first published: Monday, August 11, 2014, 15:48 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos