Cars And Motorcycles To Battle: Who Will Win ICOTY & IMOTY?

Written By:

Celebrating the best of automobiles in 2014, the prestigious Indian Car of The Year (ICOTY) 2015 and Indian Motorcycle of the Year (IMOTY) 2015 is back, and will be held in Mumbai on the 17th of December at the Sofitel Hotel, Bandra-Kurla Complex. Dialling up the excitement just a notch higher, the top contenders have been shortlisted by the elite panel of jury members.

The year 2014 was marked by several new cars and motorcycles launches which took the auto industry by storm. These new cars and motorcycles were evaluated on a variety of parameters by an eminent panel of auto experts from the media fraternity. These cars and motorcycles launched in 2014, have not only grown their respective companies' numbers but also contributed overall to the auto industry by keeping consumers' interest levels up.

In passenger car category- Honda City, Honda Mobilio, Hyundai Elite i20, Mahindra Scorpio, Maruti Suzuki Celerio, Maruti Suzuki Alto K10, Maruti Suzuki Ciaz, Tata Zest, Datsun Go and Toyota Corolla in no particular order, will fight it out for top honours on the 17th of December.

Among the best motorcycle launches, Bajaj Discover 150 F, Harley-Davidson Street 750, Hyosung Aquila GV250, Kawasaki ER-6n, Kawasaki Z250, KTM RC 200, KTM RC 390, Suzuki Gixxer, Triumph Bonneville T100, Triumph Daytona 675 R, Triumph Street Triple and Triumph Thruxton, again in no particular order, have made it to the final list.

Conceptualised in line with the American Car of the Year, European Car of the Year and Japanese Car of the Year, the Indian Car of the Year (ICOTY) and the Indian Motorcycle of the Year (IMOTY) is the search for the ultimate car and motorcycle launched in the last one year. Over the years, ICOTY and IMOTY have earned the respect of the auto industry for their transparency and objectivity and are the ultimate say on the best launches of the year. ICOTY is in its tenth year now, and JK Tyre & Industries has been a part of it since its inception.

This year ICOTY and IMOTY are headed by veteran auto journalist Bob Rupani, Chairman ICOTY and Aspi Bhatena, Chairman IMOTY.

The ICOTY jury members constitute of:

  • Bob Rupani, Girish Karkera and Murali Menon-Top Gear,
  • Bertrand D'Souza & Halley Prabhakar- Overdrive,
  • Aspi Bhathena and Aninda Sardar- Car India,
  • Rohin Nagrani and Kartik Ware- Motoring World,
  • Dhruv Behl and Arup Das - Auto X,
  • Yogendra Pratap and Rahul Ghosh - Auto Bild,
  • Sirish Chandran and Ouseph Chacko- Evo India
  • Muralidhar Swaminathan- The Hindu Business line.

The IMOTY jury members constitute of:

  • Rahul Ghosh - Auto Bild,
  • Arup Das - Auto X,
  • Aspi Bhathena and Aninda Sardar- Bike India,
  • Sirish Chandran and Abhay Verma - Evo India,
  • Kartik Ware- Motoring World,
  • Halley Prabhakar and Shubhabrata Marmar - Overdrive
  • Girish Karkera and Abhinav Mishra - BBC Top Gear India.

The experienced jury members will be selecting a single decisive winner, to be announced at a glittering event in Mumbai.

The pressure is mounting as the top contenders wait with their fingers crossed, preparation for the evening are in full swing by the organisers. The brands wait with bated breaths for the ultimate showdown on 17th Dec.

About ICOTY and IMOTY:
ICOTY and IMOTY are the bodies formed to recognize exceptional level of competence, innovation and technology in the auto & auto ancillary industries. The awards recognize the company with the highest level of performance in terms of product development, quality, timely delivery, competitive pricing, project management and customer service.

All the acknowledged jury members evaluate cars and motorcycles as a part of their journalistic work and are known for their professional competence. The awards are in line with international standards and modelled on the American Car of the Year, European Car of the Year and Japanese Car of the Year.

Story first published: Tuesday, December 16, 2014, 18:03 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos