NGT's Diesel Vehicle Ban Could Extend To 11 Indian Cities

Written By:

The National Green Tribunal (NGT) has introduced a ban on the sale of diesel vehicles over 2,000cc in the capital city of Delhi. Now they plan on extending their ban on to other cities across the country. Eleven other cities could face a ban on the sale of diesel vehicles soon.

A hearing is slated to be heard by the court on May 30, 2016, at 11:00 IST. So far, everything seems to be on track and NGT is most likely to set a ban on the sale of diesel vehicles over 2,000cc in the eleven cities. We will have to wait for the verdict that will be passed soon.

In all, fifteen cities have been considered for the ban, however, only eleven with maximum pollution levels will be accepted. The fifteen cities include Allahabad, Amritsar, Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad, Jalandhar, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Ludhiana, Mumbai, Nagpur, Pune, Patna, and Varanasi.

At this moment, over four lakh diesel vehicles with over 2,000cc engine is being sold in the country every year. By banning these models several manufacturers, as well as employees, will be affected. It is estimated that roughly 47,000 jobs in the country could be affected by the ban.

Manufacturers like Mercedes-Benz, Mahindra, Toyota, and a few others will be affected by this ban the most. Several popular diesel vehicles in the country have engines over 2,000cc. The ban on sale in eleven cities will affect overall sales dramatically in the country.


Read more on: #auto news
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos