MotoGP Official Test 2017: Vinales Sets The Pace On Day 2

Written By:

Movistar Yamaha rider Maverick Vinales ended the second day of the official pre-season test on top at Phillip Island in Australia. Vinales posted three laps in the 1m28s during the opening hour.

The young Spaniard put together three sub-1m29s laps in a row in the opening hour. He posted 1m28.896s, then 1m28.927s, and a 1m28.847s. Towards the end of the session, he showed a blistering performance and again posted two sub-1m29s laps.

The closest challenger was Repsol Honda rider and Wednesday's pacesetter Marc Marquez who set a lap of 1m29.309s early in the day. The gap between the top two riders is 0.462s and Vinales was the only rider to go under 1m29s barrier.

Satellite Honda rider Cal Crutchlow posted the third fastest time for the day on his LCR Honda. The Brit was followed by Alvaro Bautista (Aspar Ducati) with a 1m29.411s lap. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) and Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia) ended the day in fifth and sixth respectively.

Espargaro also tested new winglet fairing on his Aprilia. He was followed by Tech3 Yamaha of Jonas Folger with a 1m.29.664s lap. Wednesday's second fastest rider and Yamaha star rider Valentino Rossi finished in eighth place with a 1m29.674s lap and he was 0.827s slower than the pacesetter Vinales.

Alex Rins debuted new fairing on the Suzuki GSX-RR and was ninth fastest, followed by Jack Miller (Marc VDS Honda), Johann Zarco (Tech3 Yamaha), and Andrea Iannone (Suzuki) completing the top 12.

Dani Pedrosa didn't have a good as his physical condition was not good. The Honda rider went out on track until there was just under three hours of running to go. Pedrosa completed 38 laps and ended the day in 16th place.

Ducati's Jorge Lorenzo finished the day two testing in 15th, just ahead of Pedrosa. Lorenzo was 1.350s off the pace of Vinales.

MotoGP Phillip Island Test, Day 2 Results

1. Maverick Vinales (Yamaha) 1m28.847s
2. Marc Marquez (Honda) +0.462s
3. Cal Crutchlow (Honda) +0.478s
4. Alvaro Bautista (Ducati) +0.564s
5. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) +0.636s
6. Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia) +0.654s
7. Jonas Folger (Yamaha) +0.817s

8. Valentino Rossi (Yamaha) +0.827s
9. Alex Rins (Suzuki) +0.955s
10. Jack Miller (Honda) +0.991s
11. Johann Zarco (Yamaha) +1.070s
12. Andrea Iannone (Suzuki) +1.100s

Most Viewed Bike Photo Gallery

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos