Dakar 2017: CS Santosh And Stage 4 Updates

Written By:

The day four of the 2017 Dakar Rally saw the riders cross the Bolivian border. With stage four San Salvador de Jujuy - Tupiza was a 521km stage with 416km of timed section.

Hero Motorsports Team Rally rider CS Santosh continued his steady pace in his 450 Speedbrain rally motorcycle. He finished stage four in 64th position, but the Indian rider further slipped down the overall leaderboard and is in 79th position.

Santosh's teammate Joaquim Rodrigues showed incredible pace and finished the stage in 12th position just 25 minutes adrift the stage winner. He holds a strong 15th position in the overall standing.

Stage four victory went to KTM rider Matthias Walkner. Dakar leader Joan Barreda Bort was penalised for refueling in prohibited zone which promoted Husqvarna rider Pablo Quintanilla into the overall lead.ahead of Matthias Walkner.

The biggest happening of the day was KTM spearhead Toby Price was out of Dakar 2017. 371km into the stage the Australian rider crashed and fractured his left femur and was unable to continue.

In the quads category, stage four was won by Bolivian rider Walter Nosiglia in his Honda quad. Russian rider Sergey Karyakin leads the overall standings in his Yamaha quad.

In the cars category, Cyril Despres took his first stage win on stage four and moved to the overall lead with his fellow Peugeot drivers Sebastien Loeb and Carlos Sainz hitting trouble. Sainz lost valuable time when he rolled his car on the stage.

In the trucks category the stage four victory went to Gerard De Rooy, Moises Torrallardona and Darek Rodewald in their Iveco truck. The Russian team headed by Dmitry Sotnikov in their Kamaz truck holds the overall lead after stage four.

2017 Dakar Stage 4 Results


1. Matthias Walkner(AUT) KTM
2. Xavier De Soultrait(FRA) Yamaha
3. Stefan Svitko(SVK) KTM


1. Walter Nosiglia(BOL) Honda
2. Sergey Karyakin(RUS) Yamaha
3. Daniel Domaszewski(ARG) Honda


1. Cyril Despres(FRA) Peugeot
2. Mikko Hirvonen(FIN) Mini
3. Nani Roma(ESP) Toyota


1. Gerard De Rooy(NLD) Iveco
2. Airat Mardeev(RUS) Kamaz
3. Anton Shibalov(RUS) Kamaz

Watch the highlights from stage four of 2017 Dakar Rally.

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos