Dakar 2017: CS Santosh And Stage 10 Updates

Written By:

The 2017 Dakar Rally is nearing its climax, but the stages are getting tougher day by day. The stage ten, Chilecito „- San Juan was a 751km test with 449km of timed section. With extreme heat and tricky waypoints, it was the toughest stage for the competitors.

Hero MotoSports Team Rally rider CS Santosh too felt the heat of the toughest stage of Dakar 2017. He lost some time at the 53km mark but recovered well to finish the stage in 37th position. He is in 51st position in the overall standings.

Santosh's teammate Joaquim Rodrigues too had a tough stage, the Portuguese rider struggled to find the correct track and waypoints and finished the tenth stage in 19th position. He slipped to 14th position in the overall rankings.

The tenth stage victory went to Honda rider Joan Barreda Bort, but before that, another Honda rider Michael Metge went fastest on stage ten. But he was handed over a penalty of an hour. Sam Sunderland holds the rally lead. Pablo Quintanilla had to retire after suffering health problem on the stage.

In the quads category, Russian rider Sergey Karyakin was the fastest rider on stage ten, he also holds the rally lead with 20 minutes clear of Ignacio Casale.

In the cars category, Stephane Peterhansel won a drama-filled stage, the French driver hit a motorcycle rider on the stage and had to stop until the medical team arrived. But he was awarded the lost time. He also takes the rally lead by a narrow margin ahead of Sebastien Loeb.

In the trucks category, Russian team of Eduard Nikolaev, Evgeny Yakovlev and Vladimir Rybakov won the tenth stage in their Kamaz truck. The trio also moved into the rally lead ahead of Dmitry Sotnikov.

2017 Dakar Stage 10 Results


1. Joan Barreda Bort(ESP) Honda
2. Stefan Svitko(SVK) KTM
3. Franco Caimi(ARG) Honda


1. Sergey Karyakin(RUS) Yamaha
2. Ignacio Casale(CHL) Yamaha
3. Santiago Hansen(ARG) Honda


1. Stephane Peterhansel(FRA) Peugeot
2. Sebastien Loeb(FRA) Peugeot
3. Cyril Despres(FRA) Peugeot


1. Eduard Nikolaev(RUS) Kamaz
2. Dmitry Sotnikov(RUS) Kamaz
3. Airat Mardeev(RUS) Kamaz

Watch all the action from day one of the 2017 Dakar Rally by clicking the gallery below.

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos