Dakar 2017: CS Santosh, Aravind KP And Stage 1 Updates

Written By:

The 2017 edition of the Dakar Rally is up and running with the 39km Stage 1 - Asuncion to Resistencia with an overall distance of 454km including the transportation concluded yesterday. The first stage was flagged off from the capital of Paraguay, Asuncion.

CS Santosh finished the first stage in 47th position riding a 450 Speedbrain rally motorcycle. His teammate Joaquim Rodrigues crossed the finish line in 16th position.

TVS Sherco rider, Aravind KP on his Dakar debut finished the first stage in 61st position riding an RTR 450 Sherco TVS, whereas his teammate Juan Pedrero Garcia was the fastest rider in the first stage of the Dakar 2017.

In the quad category Brazilian rider, Marcelo Medeiros won the very first stage of 2017. It was Yamaha lockout for the top six finishers in the quad class.

In the cars category, Qatari driver Nasser Al-Attiyah won the first stage in his Toyota Hilux, although he suffered a scare at the end of the day. Xavier Pons and Nani Roma finished second and third respectively.

In the trucks category, the stage one victory went to Martin Kolomy, Rene Kilian and David Kilian in their Tatra truck.

2017 Dakar Stage 1 Results


1. Juan Pedrero Garcia (ESP) Sherco TVS
2. Ricky Brabec (USA) Honda
3. Paulo Goncalves (POR) Honda


1. Marcelo Medeiros (BRA) Yamaha
2. Gaston Gonzalez (ARG) Yamaha
3. Nelson Augusto Sanabria Galeano (PRY) Yamaha


1. Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT) Toyota
2. Xavier Pons (ESP) Ford
3. Nani Roma (Toyota)


1. Martin Kolomy (CZE) Tatra
2. Ton Van Genugten (NLD) Iveco
3. Martin Van Den Brink (NLD) Renault

Most Viewed Bike Photo Album

Story first published: Tuesday, January 3, 2017, 10:48 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos