CS Santosh 'Dakar' Rally Dream Comes True—First Indian in Dakar

Written By:

CS Santosh will be the first Indian to participate in the prestigious Dakar Rally, sponsored by PB Racing, owned by the S Balan Group. He will also recieve support from KINI Red Bull. Santosh will be riding a KTM 450 rally motorcycle.

"I'm thrilled to be the first Indian to be at Dakar. From my crash at Abu Dhabi last year, which left me with third degree burns, to standing here right now, it's been an amazing journey."

"Last two years have been rigorous training for me with my team at Kini Red Bull and with their support moving forward, things look exciting, the real journey starts from here," says Santosh.

From Motocross and Super-cross to dirt tracks and rallies, Santosh has proved time and again why he deserves the title of India's best rider.

Santosh is the only rider to have won the 14th Raid De Himalaya Trophy in the first attempt. Raid De Himalaya is considered to be one of the toughest forms of Motorsports in India, and the only race that is listed on the off-road rallies calendar of Federation Internationale Motocyclisme (FIM) or Federation of International Motorcycling.

During 2013, CS Santosh had a mishap and suffered 3rd degree burns during the Abu-Dhabi Desert Challenge, which forced him out of the championship. His strong will urged him to re-enter the race in 2014 and this time, he ended up finishing as the 9th best rider in the world over all.

This victory gave him the red carpet invitation required to make an entrance into Dakar Rally.

Achievements By C S Santosh till date:

National AwardInternational Award
2005MRF National Supercross Championship2006AI-Ain Motocross In Dubai
2005Gulf National Dirt Track championship2009Maharagama Motocross in Sri Lanka
2007National Champion Supercross Indian Experts2010Nur Elia Motocross in Sri Lanka
2008MRF Supercross Challenge2010Foxhill Supercross in Sri Lanka
2008Gulf Dirt Track Championship2010Vijayabahu Motocross Champion in Sri Lanka
2010MRF National Supercross Championship2010Gajaba Supercross in Sri Lanka
2010Rolon National Dirt Track Championship2011Gajaba Supercross in Sri Lanka
2011MRF National Supercross Championship Chandigarh2011Gunner's Supercross in Sri Lanka
2011MRF National Supercross Championship Pune2011Sigiri Rally Supercross in Sri Lanka
2011MRF National Supercross Championship Kolhapur2011Fox Hill Supercross in Sri Lanka (2nd place)
2012MRF National Supercross Championship Chandigarh201214th Raid De Himalaya 2012
2012MRF National Supercross Championship Jaipur (2nd place)2012Gunner's Supercross in Sri Lanka
2012MRF National Supercross Championship Kochi (2nd place) 2012Cavalry Supercross in Sri Lanka (2nd place)
2014Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm Winner
2014World Cross Country Rally Championship (9th place)

About Dakar Rally:

The Dakar Rally is an annual rally raid organized by Amaury Sport Organisation. For 2015, the Dakar organisers ASO want to take the world's toughest race back to its origins by opening up the exhausting marathon stages to all classes.

The start and finish line will be back in Buenos Aires, Argentina's capital city, which first hosted the rally in 2009. But not everything will be a nod to the past. Rest day will be in Iquique but on different days for different classes: cars and trucks will rest on January 10th, while bikes and quads on the 12th - that means more Dakar action.

The Dakar 2015 makes excursions into Bolivia and Chile on a looping 9000 km route to Termas de Río Hondo and back to Buenos Aires.

Story first published: Wednesday, December 17, 2014, 16:14 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos