New Year 2017 Bring Bad News For BMW, Porsche, And Nissan In South Korea

Written By:

New Year excitement having barely settled, the South Korean authorities have banned sales of certain cars made by BMW, Porsche, and Nissan in the country.

A total of 10 cars made by the three brands have been banned in South Korea, and have also been fined for forging certification documents.

According to the South Korean Ministry of Environment, the affected vehicles are BMW X5 M, Nissan Qashqai, Infiniti Q50, Porsche Macan S Diesel, Cayman SE Hybrid and Turbo, 918 Spyder, Cayman GTS, 911 GT3, and the Panamera SE Hybrid.

The latest news comes soon after South Korea's Ministry of Environment launched an investigation to find out if any other carmaker has false documents about emission and noise, following the Volkswagen Diesel Gate scandal.

Authorities have withdrawn the certification of 10 models, out of which 6 are on sale currently. Also, BMW, Porsche, and Nissan have been fined a total of $5.9 million.

Last year, South Korea slapped a massive fine of $15.98 million on Volkswagen and suspended the sales of 32 car models made by VW, Audi, and Bentley.

Most Viewed Car Photo Gallery

Story first published: Tuesday, January 3, 2017, 11:23 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos