Petrol Pumps To Be Shut On Sundays Across Eight States — Is Your State Among Them?

Written By:

Starting May 14, 2017, petrol outlets in eight states will be shut every Sunday following Prime Minister Narendra Modi's call to preserve oil, a fuel pump owners' body said here on Tuesday.

"We had planned to shut our outlets on Sundays a few years back. But oil marketing companies had then requested us to reconsider our decision. Now we have decided to shut the outlets on Sundays," said Suresh Kumar, an executive committee member of the consortium of Indian petroleum dealers.

The association's decision was made given the Prime Minister's call in his recent 'Mann ki Baat' programme to conserve oil to save the environment.

Kumar, also the vice-president of Tamil Nadu Petroleum Dealers Association, said approximately 20,000 outlets in Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Puducherry, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Maharashtra and Haryana would be shut for 24 hours on Sundays.

"In Tamil Nadu, we expect a business loss of Rs 150 crore if we do not operate on a Sunday. But we have seen a decline in sales on Sundays by up to 40 percent," he said.

When asked if the association's decision was upheld by the oil marketing companies (OMCs), he said, "We will communicate our decision to them shortly."

He added that the fuel outlets which usually has about 15 staff each would have one staff member on holidays to provide fuel if there is an emergency situation.

On the subject of OMCs increasing the margins to fuel outlets, he said the association was discussing it and would soon make an announcement in this regard. "That struggle is going on. We are meeting our association members shortly. We will announce our decision soon," he said.

Read more on: #auto news
Story first published: Wednesday, April 19, 2017, 9:37 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos