2017 Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm: Suresh Rana And CS Santosh Lead After Leg 3

Written By:

Traversing 350kms of Jaisalmer's undulating and gruelling terrain in the scorching heat, participants reached the end of leg 3 of the 15th edition of Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm.

The rallyists completed 200km, the longest racing stretch ever in the history of Indian motorsport. The terrain comprising of the perfect mix of sand, rock and tarmac challenged the participant's abilities to manoeuvre over the changing landscape.

In the Xtreme category, Suresh Rana with navigator, Ashwin Naik picked up momentum in their Maruti Suzuki Grand Vitara after a minor setback on Day 2. Sandeep Sharma and navigator Karan Arya driving the Maruti Suzuki Gypsy were seen following closely at the second position, while Niju Padia and navigator Nirav Mehta stood third in their Pajero.

In the Moto category, India's first Dakar competitor, CS Santosh retained his first position from the first two days and was followed by R. Nataraj and Tanveer Abdul Wahid in the second and third position respectively.

In the Ndure category, participants drove in 4X4 vehicles to manage the given time, speed and distance and avoid penalties. Arpit Gupta and T. Nagarajan won the title in the Ndure class.

In the Xplore category, Ali Ajgar with Mohammed Musthafa seized the winning title, followed by Karthick Maruthi with Sankar Anand. Anupam Chandra and Adheesh Agrawal finished third in the category.

2017 Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm Results After Leg 3

Extreme Category

1. Suresh Rana/Ashwin Naik –06:37:29
2. Sandeep Sharma/Karan Arya –06:42:47
3. Niju Padia/Nirav Mehta –06:44:34

Moto Category

1. CS Santosh –05:26:00
2. R Nataraj –05:26:42
3. Tanveer Abdul Wahid –05:46:36

Mobil has partnered with Maruti Suzuki Motorsport and Mobil1 is the official fuel and lubricant partner for the 2017 Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm.

Most Viewed Car Photo Gallery

Catch all the action from the day 1 of the 2017 Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm in association with Mobil1 by clicking the photo gallery below.

Story first published: Thursday, February 2, 2017, 10:22 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos