Suresh Rana And R Nataraj Wins 2017 Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm

Written By:

The 15th edition of the Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm has concluded, Suresh Rana and R Nataraj emerged victorious in Xtreme and Moto category respectively.

After gruelling five days of rallying in the scorching heat of the desert, the final legof the rally which was the night leg this year covered a total distance of around 150km challenging the participants as they traversed through the sandy dunes in the chilly temperatures of the night.

In the Xtreme category, Team Maruti driver Suresh Rana and Ashwin Naik emerged victorious in their Maruti Suzuki Grand Vitara. Himanshu Arora and Chirag Thakurfinished the rally in the second position. The final podium position went to Saazid Singha.

In the Moto category, it was a drama filled leg five. Hero MotoSports Team Rally rider CS Santosh was given a 35 minutes time penalty for missing a checkpoint. This incident handed over the victory to TVS Racing rider R Nataraj.

Nataraj's teammate Abdul Wahid Tanveer finished second delivering a 1-2 finish for the TVS factory team. Unfortunately, after leading the entire rally Santosh had to settle for the third position.

In the NDurance category, Nikunj Toshniwal and co-driver Suvrajit Dutta won the title, while Karthick Maruthi and S. Sankar Anand took home the trophy in the XPlore Cars category driving the Maruti Suzuki Vitara Brezza.

Mobil1 is the official fuel and lubricant partner for the 2017 Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm.

Most Viewed Car Photo Gallery

Missed all the action from the 2017 Maruti Suzuki Desrt storm? Then view all the photos from the rally by clicking the gallery below.

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos