World Rally Championship — Starting Order Rules Revisited For 2017

Written By:

The most criticised rules in the World Rally Championship this year, the starting order rule has finally been changed for 2017 season. Volkswagen which is quitting WRC after this season and Sebastien Ogier had urged to change this rule this season.

The 2016 starting order rules forced the championship leader, Ogier to open the road on the first two days of the rally on the entire season, which resulted in adverse results for the WRC champion.

Especially in gravel rallies the French driver was badly affected by the lack of grip and has also endured six rallies without a victory in a streak.

Although Ogier clinched his fourth WRC title by winning every non-gravel rally and some consistent results in the gravel rallies.

The rules for the 2017 season has been reversed back to 2014 starting order system at the WRC Commission Meeting in Paris.

That means from 2017 the championship leader will run first on the road for only the first day of the rally. The remaining two days will be run in reverse order giving the fast drivers the best chance to win the rally.

Apart from the running order rules the Power Sage points system has also been revamped. According to the new rule, the winner of final Power Stage will earn five points and the remaining four drivers will score one less point than the driver before him.

With the 2017 WRC cars will be only run by the factory teams, a separate privateers championship has been formed. The private drivers will be using current WRC cars in 2017 season. Although these decisions will be officially announced in the World Motorsport Council meeting on November 30th.

Read more on: #wrc #motorsports #auto news
Story first published: Wednesday, November 9, 2016, 18:00 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos