World Rally Championship — Sebastien Ogier Clinches Fourth Title With Rally Spain Victory

Written By:

Sebastien Ogier has clinched his fourth World Rally Championship title by winning the Rally of Spain. With this, he equals the record with former Finnish rally drivers Juha Kankunnen and Tommi Makinen with four WRC titles.

Ogier took the lead of the rally on Friday, but due to his road position he lost the lead to Dani Sordo. But Ogier came back very strongly on the asphalt stages on Saturday to hunt down the rally leader and cruise to victory by a margin of 15.6 seconds.

Hyundai driver Sordo couldn't match Ogier's pace and had to settle for second place and finished almost a minute quicker than his Hyundai teammates.

Ogier's title bid got much easier after his only title rival VW driver Andreas Mikkelsen crashed out of the rally after clipping a barrier and rolling his Polo WRC.

Hyundai driver Thierry Neuville finished in podium spot by beating his teammate Hayden Paddon. While Paddon finished fourth to secure his best result on the tarmac rally.

M-Sport driver Mads Ostberg in his Fiesta WRC was benefited by Citroen driver Kris Meek's crash and finished fifth. Another Fiesta WRC driver Ott Tanak was in sixth overall.

Hyundai Motorsport N driver Kevin Abbring secured his best ever WRC finish by finishing seventh. Citroen AbuDhabi driver Craig Breen despite breaking his driveshaft managed to finish in the final point scoring position.

Volkswagen driver Jari-Matti Latvala won the Power stage and had good pace all weekend. But due to his off-road excursion on Friday the Finn couldn't finish inside the top ten position.

Read more on: #wrc #motorsports #auto news
Story first published: Monday, October 17, 2016, 16:54 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos