Raid de Himalaya Flagged Off From The Valley Town Of Manali

Written By:

Established in 1999, the Raid de Himalaya is the only Indian Motorsport event listed on the off-road rallies calendar of Federation Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM). The 18th edition of the Maruti Suzuki Raid de Himalaya was flagged from Manali on October 7, 2016.

The event will take place from October 7 - 15, 2016, while the entries were opened from April 15, 2016. Suresh Rana a nine-time winner of the rally and five-time winner of Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm will be seen on the event.

Giving a chase will be Sandeep Sharma (runner-up of Maruti Suzuki Dakshin Dare-2016), Bani Yadav knownfor her winning titles at the Maruti Suzuki Desert Storm, Autocross, and Maruti Suzuki Raid de Himalaya.

Along with Bani 12 other women will participate in the event. The Raid de Himalaya boasts of a format with special stages which sometimes is longer than 100 kilometres.

Also, the event includes both four-wheelers and two-wheelers. In 1999, when the event debuted, it has 16 participants and in 2013 it grew to over 200 teams.

The events witnessed and contend with blizzards, earthquakes and snow storms. Organisers have refined the Safety and Evacuation systems for faster response to mitigate any unfortunate situation.

The route of Raid de Himalaya passes through some of the toughest terrains and world's highest motorable roads. Some of the passes include Jalori Pass, Rohtang Pass, Kunzum La, Tanglang La and Khardung La.

The rally runs in two separate categories - X-Treme and Adventure Trail and is open to car and bike enthusiasts across the world. The event is open to both professionals and amateur motorsports lovers.

Read more on: #auto news
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos