World Rally Championship — Hyundai Confirms 2017 Driver Lineup

Written By:

Hyundai has confirmed its 2017 driver lineup for World Rally Championship. The Korean carmaker has retained the same drivers for the 2017 season.

The official announcement from Hyundai came just hours after Citroen revealed its driver lineup for the next two years in the championship. Hyundai has retained the same trio for the 2017 season.

Hyundai has concluded a two-year deal with Belgian driver Thierry Neuville to drive the next-gen Hyundai i20 WRC car.

Before the deal took place, Neuville was in negotiation with Toyota World Rally Team and the Citroen squad for the 2017 seat.

Thierry Neuville and his co-driver Nicolas Gilsoul will now join his teammates Dani Sordo/Marc Marti and Hayden Paddon/John Kennard.

After the new two-year deal, Neuville said, "I am delighted to extend my contract for two more years. 2017 will be a new era for the WRC with the revised regulations."

He added, " With a new car next year, and even more ambitious targets, I am excited by what this next chapter will bring."

Neuville has not yet tested the 2017 car nor he has been a part of the development program. Now after the deal is sealed he will be testing the car as soon as possible.

Hyundai team principal Michel Nandan said, "Thierry has been a great asset to our team. There has been a lot of talk about Thierry's future, so the fact we continue together shows the strength of our relationship."

Story first published: Thursday, October 6, 2016, 15:58 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos