Malaysia APRC — Gaurav Gill Takes Rally Victory And The Championship

Written By:

Indian ace rally driver Gaurav Gill has emerged victorious in the fifth round of the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship held in Malaysia last weekend. With the rally win, Gill also clinched his second APRC title with still one round to go.

Team MRF SKoda driver Gill, driving a Fabia R5 took the lead in the very first stage and he never looked back. Gill and his co-driver Glenn Macneall won the rally by a huge margin after their fellow competitors suffered misfortunes.

Finnish driver Jari Ketomaa and his co-driver Mikko Lukka finished second overall in the rally driving a Mitsubishi Mirage rally car.

The final podium position was claimed by Japanese driver Yuya Sumiyama alongside his co-driver Takahiro Yasui in their Subaru Impreza.

Indian rally driver Sanjay Takale finished in an impressive fourth position in his Cusco Subaru Impreza. He was overwhelmed by this result as he also secured first overall in national Malaysian Rally Championship.

Gill's teammate German driver Fabian Kreim suffered gearbox problems on day one of the rally and returned under Super Rally rules and finished in fifth overall.

New Zealand driver Mike Young also suffered problems early in the rally. His Subaru Impreza got stuck in a ditch in the very first stage and the crew was not able to get the car going and had to retire from the rally.

The final round of the APRC, Rally of India will be held from December 10th to 11th in Chikmagalur. Gaurav Gill and Sanjay Takale will enjoy the support of their family and friends in their home rally.

Read more on: #motorsports #auto news
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos