World Rally Championship — Citroen Reveals 2017 Driver Lineup

Written By:

The French automaker Citroen has revealed the driver lineup for the 2017 World Rally Championship. Just a few days earlier Citroen unveiled its 2017 Citroen C3 concept at the 2016 Paris Motor Show.

Today Citroen racing announced the names of drivers who will be competing in the next two seasons of FIA World Rally Championship.

Kris Meeke and Paul Nagle were already confirmed as factory drivers earlier. Now they will be joined by Craig Breen/Scott Martin and Stephane Lefebvre/Gabin Moreau.

Abu Dhabi Racing Chairman Sheikh Khalid Al Qassimi will also be competing in some of the events in 2017. Step by step Citroen is putting things together for a fresh new assault after a gap of one year in the championship.

The Citroen C3 has been developed from the month of April and it has undergone a steep curve of improvements. The car has been tested on all the surfaces across Europe.

This driver lineup very much reflects the Citroen's policy of identifying and developing young talented drivers, which is being done for the last 15 years.

At the start of the 2017 season, Citroen will field two Citroen C3 WRC cars, one for Kris Meeke and the other for Craig Breen or Stephane Lefebvre, who will switch seats for different events.

Citroen Racing Team Principal, Yves Matton said, "We had several scenarios regarding the choice of our crews for the future. Kris Meeke was confirmed at the end of last year and has become the natural leader of the team."

He added, "In choosing two young crews to complete the line-up, I don't think we can be accused of having gone for the easy option. But this original solution is very much aligned with Citroën's mindset. And having seen them compete this season for the Abu Dhabi Total WRT, we believe in the potential of Craig Breen and Stéphane Lefebvre."

Story first published: Wednesday, October 5, 2016, 12:59 [IST]
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos