APRC India Rally: Gaurav Gill Clean Sweeps The Season With Home Rally Victory

Written By:

Indian rally driver Gaurav Gill (co-driver Glenn Macneall) won the India Rally, the final round of the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship held in the coffee town of Chikmagalur. With the home rally win, Gill completed the clean sweep of victories in 2016 season.

Gill clinched his second APRC title in the penultimate round of Malaysia and continued his dominance on his home turf. Out of the 17 stages, Gill won 12 stages to score an outright win.

New Zealand driver Mike Young (co-driver Malcolm Read) finished the rally in the runner-up position. Although the Kiwi driver had his share of moments when his power steering broke down before the last stage. He also secured the third position in the championship.

Another Cusco Subaru driver Sanjay Takale (co-driver Noriko Takeshita) finished third to make it two Indians on the podium. He also clinched victory in the IRC class. Despite the puncture on Leg one Takale managed to keep his pace.

Japanese driver Yuya Sumiyama (co-driver Takahiro Yasui) finished fourth in the APRC class. Team MRF Skoda driver Fabian Kreim (co-driver Frank Christian) finished fifth. Kreim crashed on Leg one and returned to take four stage wins on Leg two.

In the Indian Rally Championship class, Takale was the outright winner in his Subaru Impreza. Ritesh M Guttedar (co-driver Sheeraz Ahmed) finished second driving a Volkswagen Polo over 12 minutes adrift the winner.

Byram Godrej (co-driver Ninad Mirajgaonkar) finished third in the IRC class to round off the podium finishers. Indian National Rally Championship victory went to Karna Kadur (co-driver Nikhil Pai) piloting a VW Polo.

Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos