Amittrajit Ghosh Wins The Coveted MRF 42nd K1000 Rally 2016

Written By:

In a fierce showdown for the coveted MRF 42nd K1000 Rally 2016 held in Bengaluru, Amittrajit Ghosh and Ashwin Naik took the victory with an overall time of 00:51:40.2. This event is the oldest rally in India and this is the second victory for Team Mahindra Adventure driver.

In July 2016, Amittrajit won the MRF Rally of Coimbatore followed by the second podium last weekend. He said, "Feels very nice to end the season with a win and having the most number of wins this season. We will come back better and stronger in 2017."

The Team Mahindra Adventure driver was followed by Phalguna V and Rahul Kanthraj with an overall time of 00:53:38.1 and 00:54:30.5 respectively.

Championship contender Gaurav Gill failed to finish the race after suffering a driveshaft failure to his Team Mahindra Adventure machine in SS1. Arjun Rao also failed to finish the event while running third due to a mechanical error.

Mr Arindam Ghosh, Director, RRPM, who are the promoters of the MRF FMSCI INRC and IRC, said: "It has been a lovely year of rallying and it can only get better from here. We promise to bring back an even better championship next year."

The K1000 rally event has been held in India for the past 42 years and the name K1000 is attributed to the 1000 mile (1600 km) rally that used to run in the mid-80s. Now, the rally is part of the INRC calendar and it spans across 104 km through 6 stages around the village of Hosadurga.

Read more on: #motorsports #fmsci
Please Wait while comments are loading...

Latest Photos